MAT體育與選修

Coach D and Coach M coaching - Copy.JPG
競技

MAT體育與體育系致力於為每個學生提供參加課外運動的機會,並在Phys Ed課程中享受有關健康和娛樂的學習。我們的體育課程圍繞運動和融合而設計,我們的學生可以使用兩個大型體育館,兩個草地和草皮場,攀岩牆,帶有跑步機的高科技健身室,划船機,橢圓機和視頻遊戲,任天堂Wii的XBox 360以及全新的最先進虛擬現實遊戲系統,其中集成了三個投影的10英尺遊戲屏幕。我們的課餘體育項目涉及80%以上的學生,孩子們有機會在38個團隊的18種運動中進行選擇,這使MAT成為美國公立中學規模最大,最具包容性的體育項目。沒有一個孩子會從一項運動中被裁掉,而是被安排在一個適合自己能力的團隊中。 MAT在過去15年中贏得了52個紐約中學運動冠軍,這是紐約歷史上最多的學校。我們的運動主管兼體育老師John DeMatteo曾四次獲得年度紐約市中學老師的稱號(3個黑板獎和一個教育更新獎),並與前第一夫人米歇爾·奧巴馬一起在國家電視台播出,以推廣美國的健身水平。在對我們學校進行的博士研究揭示了我們的模型在美國取得的成功以及全世界的學校如何從類似的努力中受益之後,MAT Phys Ed和體育項目被選為參加2014年在新西蘭舉行的世界衛生大會。

提供的運動:
標記足球。 • 籃球。 •。 足球。 •。 棒球
壘球。 •。 網球。 • 乒乓球。 • 還有很多
音樂

  MAT的音樂課程每年為數百名學生提供全面而動感的音樂體驗。與某些僅對音樂教育進行有限介紹的城市學校課程不同,MAT音樂課程可確保每個學生在音樂理論,樂器技術,演奏技巧和音樂歷史方面都有紮實的基礎。學生將學習先進的技巧,以閱讀筆記和計算節奏,並以年輕的專業水平學習演奏樂器。當我們的學生升入8年級時,他們中的一些人演奏得足夠好,可以成功地為紐約市許多最負盛名的音樂/藝術高中試鏡。不管MAT學生是否選擇繼續擔任樂器演奏家,他們都對MAT充滿了欣賞,並加深了對音樂豐富生活和社區能力的理解。

學生可以選擇參加“音樂會樂隊”或“打擊樂團”計劃,這是他們為期3年的“主要”學習課程。音樂會樂隊的樂器有:長笛,單簧管,薩克斯風,小號,圓號,長號,男中音號和大號。打擊樂團的學生學習演奏基本的管弦樂打擊樂器,包括軍鼓,低音鼓,crash,木琴和其他槌槌打擊樂器。這兩個團體都在全年進行公開表演。

對於尋求機會演奏更具挑戰性的音樂的學生,他們可以試聽高級樂隊(由樂隊前六名至八名學生組成的音樂會樂隊,每周放學前兩次見面),以及爵士樂實驗室(專注於爵士樂的組合)即興音樂,放學後每週兩次見面)。

除了樂隊/打擊樂程序,MAT還為6年級的學生提供了一個學期的充實課程:GPS(吉他,鋼琴,歌曲創作)課程。學生將學習有關吉他和鋼琴的基本入門知識,以及基本的音樂理論和詞曲創作技巧。

計算機科學

  中學CS計劃著重於向所有學生介紹基於文本的編碼。在6年級,將通過CS Discoveries課程向學生介紹編碼的基礎,該課程涵蓋簡單的HTML,CSS和使用設計過程(識別問題,集思廣益解決方案,測試解決方案並遍歷整個過程以進行構建遊戲和應用程序設計中的功能性計算工件)。在7年級,將通過使用基於Web的界面P5.js的Creative Web課程向學生介紹JavaScript。學生將繼續參與設計過程,以使用JavaScript創建響應式和交互式形狀。通過創建富有表現力的表情符號和按鈕遊戲等項目,學生將通過研究超文本和样式表來學習如何在網絡上顯示信息或應用程序,然後使用開源Javascript庫p5.js學習如何製作自己的富有表現力和互動性的網站。 。在8年級,學生將從Creative Web的第3單元開始學年,該單元將學習如何使用媒體文件。然後,我們將在repl.it上過渡到Python編碼(Repl.it是一個簡單而功能強大的在線IDE /編輯器,可承載50多種編程語言)。隨著學生體驗各種編碼類型,利用在線參考資料以及從他人的項目中學習,他們將了解編碼社區的開放性,學習協作的價值,並考慮如何為更大的CS社區做出貢獻。

視覺藝術

  MAT的中學藝術課程專注於培養與MAT多樣化且能力強的學生社區的未來相關的視覺和概念性問題解決能力。嚴格的課程內容使學生以許多不同的方式接觸到傳統和非傳統的藝術思考方式。
無論學生在校內和校外從事藝術活動的程度如何,所有學生都將獲得其藝術學習和創造性活動的支持,並且通過使用混合學習和遠程學習模式,使學生盡可能平等地使用混合和遠程學習模式來學習課程內容模態教學工具和活動。為計劃申請基於藝術的中學的學生提供組合和試聽教練。
學生將對視覺藝術有更有意義的欣賞,並具有將視覺思維技能運用到未來工作中的能力,從而完成課程。

Visual Arts.jpg

MAT Sports & Electives

Coach D and Coach M coaching - Copy.JPG
ATHLETICS

   The MAT physical education and athletics department is committed to providing every single student the opportunity to participate in an after-school sport as well as enjoy learning about health and recreation during Phys Ed classes. Our physical education curriculum is designed around movement and inclusion and our students have access to two large gymnasiums, two grass and turf fields, a rock-climbing wall, a high tech fitness room featuring treadmills, rowing machines, elliptical and video gaming featuring Nintendo Wii’s and XBox 360 as well as a brand new state of the art virtual reality gaming system which incorporates three projected 10-foot gaming screens. Our after-school sports program involves over 80% of the student population and children have the opportunity to choose between 18 sports on 38 teams making MAT the largest and most inclusive sports program in the United States for a public middle school. No child is cut from a sport ever, but rather placed on a team that fits his or her abilities. MAT has won 52 NYC middle school sports championships in the last 15 years, the most of any school in NYC history. Our athletic director and physical education teacher John DeMatteo was named NYC middle school teacher of the year four times (3 blackboard awards and one education update award) and has been featured with the former First Lady Michelle Obama on national television to promote fitness in the country. The MAT Phys Ed and sports program was chosen to present at the world health conference in New Zealand in 2014 after a doctorate study on our school revealed how successful our model has been in the U.S. and how schools worldwide could benefit from a similar effort.

SPORTS OFFERED:
Flag Football. •  Basketball. •. Soccer. •. Baseball
Softball. •. Tennis. •  Table Tennis. • And Many More
MUSIC

   The music program at MAT provides a comprehensive and dynamic music experience to hundreds of students each year. Unlike some city school programs that offer only a limited introduction to music education, the MAT music program ensures that each student has a firm grounding in music theory, instrumental technique, performance skills, and music history. Students learn advanced techniques in reading notes and counting rhythms and will learn to play their instruments at a young professional level. By the time our students reach the 8th grade, several of them play well enough to successfully audition for many of NYC's most prestigious music/arts high schools. Regardless of whether MAT students choose to continue to be instrumentalists, all of them leave MAT with a rich appreciation and deeper understanding of music's ability to enrich their lives and communities. 

   Students can choose to join the Concert Band or Percussion Ensemble programs as their 3-year "major" course of study. The Concert Band instruments are: flute, clarinet, saxophone, trumpet, French horn, trombone, baritone horn, and tuba. The Percussion Ensemble students learn to play basic orchestral percussion instruments including snare drum, bass drum, crash cymbals, xylophone, and other mallet percussion instruments. Both of these groups give public performances throughout the year.

   For students seeking the opportunity to play even more challenging music, they can audition for the Advanced Band (a Concert Band made up of the top 6th-8th students that meet twice weekly before school), and the Jazz Lab (a jazz combo focusing on improvised music that meets twice weekly after school).

In addition to the band/percussion program, MAT offers a one-semester Enrichment class for 6th-grade students: the GPS (Guitar, Piano, Songwriting) class. Students learn a very basic introduction to guitar and piano, as well as basic music theory and songwriting techniques.

8th Band 1.jpg
Hackathon_2019.jpg
Computer Science

   The Middle School CS program focuses on introducing text-based coding to all students. In 6th grade, students will be introduced to the foundation of coding through the CS Discoveries curriculum, which covers simple HTML, CSS, and using the Design Process (identifying a problem, brainstorming a solution, testing the solution and iterating through the process to build a functional computational artifact) in games and apps design. In 7th grades, students will be introduced to JavaScript through the Creative Web curriculum that uses a web-based interface, P5.js. Students will continue to engage in the Design Process to create responsive and interactive shapes using JavaScript. Through projects like creating an expressive emoji and the button game,  students will learn how information or applications are displayed on the web by studying hypertext and stylesheets and then learn how to make their own expressive and interactive website using the open source Javascript library p5.js. In 8th grades, students will begin the school year with Unit 3 from Creative Web, which students will learn about working with media files. Then, we will transition to Python Coding on repl.it (Repl.it is a simple yet powerful online IDE/Editor that hosts 50+ programming languages). As students experience various types of coding, utilizing online references and learning from others’ projects, they will understand the openness of the coding community, learn the value of collaboration, and consider how they can contribute to the larger CS community.

Visual Art

    The Middle School Art program at MAT is focused on cultivating skills in visual and conceptual problem-solving that are pertinent to the future of MAT’s diverse and highly capable student community. The rigorous course content exposes students to both traditional and non-traditional ways of thinking about and making art.

    All students are supported in their art learning and creative activity, regardless of their level of involvement in the arts within and beyond school, and course content is made as equally accessible as possible to students in both hybrid and remote learning models through the use of multi-modal teaching tools and activities. Portfolio and audition coaching is offered for students planning to apply to arts-based high schools.

 

    Students complete the program with a more meaningful appreciation for visual art and ability to apply visual thinking skills to future endeavors.

Visual Arts.jpg